Meem's Bottom Covered Bridge
|[Note Guidelines] Photographer's Note|
|Meem's Bottom Bridge|
The 204-foot single-span Burr arch truss covered bridge known as Meem's Bottom Bridge is located in Shenandoah County, Virginia. The site takes its name from the Meem family that owned large landholdings in the area.
Succeeding several earlier bridges, the Meem's Bottom Bridge was built in 1894. Materials were cut and quarried nearby for the massive arch supports and the stone abutments which extend 10 feet below the riverbed. Previous bridges in this spot were washed away in the floods of 1870 and 1877. The next bridge, built in 1878, stood until it was replaced by the present bridge.
This long span over the North Fork of the Shenandoah River carried traffic for more than 80 years before being burned by vandals on Halloween in 1976. After salvaging the original timbers, the bridge was reconstructed and eventually under girded with steel beams and concrete piers.
brech, kevin has marked this note useful
Only registered TrekLens members may rate photo notes.
- [2011-05-29 22:11]
excellent POV and exposure.tfs.
Very nice shot! Picturesque. Beautifully delivered.
- [2011-05-30 4:04]
A splendid image with great detail in the wonderful woodwork.Have you cosidered placing the ''light at the end of the tunnel'' on a third? Just a thought.
Nice shot Bill. Good dof and pov. Well done. TFS, Lori